Rock It

 

Don't you sit too close, or I'll bla bla bla bla bla

It is necessary to record moments in contemporary cultural history as custodians of that history (all of us writing blogs) and when a song gets this sublime on the lyrics, there is nothing else to sit back and enjoy the experience ūüôā (and no, I am not being sarcastic)

I’m walking to the something
Bla bla bla bla bla bla bla
Collapse
I’m drinking too much bla bla,
bla bla bla bla bla bla bla
Fall out
I’m feeling really bla bla, I want to bla bla bla,
Collapse
And in the end it means I bla bla bla bla bla bla bla
The end

I got myself together
Bla bla bla bla bla bla bla.
Watch out
I didn’t need the patience, life bla bla bla bla bla
Collapse
Don’t you sit to close, or I’ll bla bla bla bla bla
Break up
Stick it up your nose
Bla bla bla bla bla bla
The end

I didn’t mean to do it (Rock it, rock it)
It loved me in my head (Rock it, rock it)
I tried to be a charmer, (Rock it, rock it)
but I got a bit hopeless instead (Rock it, rock it)
The world is very sexy (Rock it, rock it)
It’s part of my collapse (Rock it, rock it)

I’m walking to the something (It’s part of my collapse…)
Bla bla bla bla bla bla bla
I’m drinking too much bla bla,
bla bla bla bla bla bla bla
Fall out
I’m feeling really bla bla, I want to bla bla bla,
Collapse
And in the end it means I bla bla bla bla bla bla bla
The end

I didn’t mean to do it (Rock it, rock it)
It loved me in my head (Rock it, rock it)
I tried to be a charmer, (Rock it, rock it)
but I got a bit hopeless instead (Rock it, rock it)
The world is very sexy (Rock it, rock it)
It’s part of my collapse (Rock it, rock it)

I’m walking to the something (It’s part of my collapse…)
Bla bla bla bla bla bla bla
I’m drinking too much bla bla,
bla bla bla bla bla bla bla
Fall out
I’m feeling really bla bla, I want to bla bla bla,
Collapse
And in the end it means I bla bla bla bla bla bla bla
The end

Rock it

The song and the video is here

Incidentally, for the un-initated, Gorillaz the band itself is quite telling of the modern times,

Gorillaz is a musical project created in 1998 by British musician¬†Damon Albarn and British cartoonist¬†Jamie Hewlett, co-creator of the¬†comic book Tank Girl. This project consists of the Gorillaz music itself and an extensive¬†fictional universe depicting a “virtual band” of comic book characters. While watching¬†MTV, Hewlett came up with the idea to create the band, and later commented, “if you watch MTV for too long, it’s a bit like hell ‚Äď there’s nothing of substance there. So we got this idea for a cartoon band, something that would be a comment on that. “This band is composed of four animated members:¬†2D (lead vocalist, keyboard),¬†Murdoc Niccals (bass guitar),¬†Noodle (guitar, keyboard, and occasional vocals) and¬†Russel Hobbs (drums and percussion). They are used in promotional material such as album covers, posters, and in concerts, during which holographic versions of the characters are used.¬†The band’s music is a collaboration between various musicians; Albarn is the only permanent musical contributor.¬†Their style is a composition of multiple musical genres, with a large number of influences including:¬†dub,¬†hip hop,¬†alternative rock,¬†electronic and pop music.

The band’s 2001 debut album¬†Gorillaz sold over seven million copies and earned them an entry in the¬†Guinness Book of World Records as the Most Successful Virtual Band.¬†Their second studio album,¬†Demon Days, released in 2005, went five times platinum in the UK,¬†double platinum in the United States, earned five¬†Grammy Award nominations for 2006¬†and won one of them in the¬†Best Pop Collaboration with Vocals category.¬†Gorillaz have also released two B-sides compilations and a remix album. The combined sales of¬†Gorillaz and¬†Demon Days had, by 2007, exceeded 20¬†million albums.¬†The band’s third studio album,¬†Plastic Beach, was released in 2010. On 25 June 2010, the band stood in for¬†U2 as¬†Glastonbury Festival 2010‘s first-night headliners.

 

Say Hello to the Boys!

Leave a Reply

