Content watching on the laptop

And just like that (it wasn’t just like that), I have started watching things on the laptop again.

Over the last few days, I have seen some 4-5 episodes of Breaking Bad Season 2. (This is what I was using to try to kickstart the habit. Bad idea. So far, I have been mind-numbingly bored of Breaking Bad. It is so slow, I want to beat someone up to speed it up. It is a show about meth, for god’s sake. And the women in the show, takeadeepbreathnowtakeadeepdeepbreath such unbelievable non stop bitches. Sorry, wrong choice of word perhaps. Very believable). The show is very original and everything, but as of now it is trudging slowly, slowly, and slowly. This is perhaps the only TV show I have seen till date of which I can’t even watch two episodes back to back, not because it is that boring, but because it is the same thing over and over and over and over again. I won’t quit, shall keep trudging because I keep hearing a lot about Season 4. But seriously , man!

Then, I saw Rocket Singh, again. I had been thinking about watching it for a long long time. And on the day that I was in bed, foot sprained, worried about next month, and next year, watching Rocket Singh brought out everything holed up inside in a rush. I bawled my eyes out, not just on specific scenes, but pretty much through the film.

Risk to spiderman ko bhi lena padta hai, main to fir bhi salesman hun

Then there was Mad Max 2.Long time, no see scenario.

Then there was The Prestige, again. This time in HD. Still detest Hugh Jackman. Still don’t get the big deal about the movie.

That same evening, I saw Cidade de Deus (City of God). Completely by accident (I live for such happy accidents). I had been carrying the movie around with me for more than 3-4 years now. Saw it, and it seared my mind. One of those movies that seriously blow your mind. Not by how well it is made, but by the effect they have on you. BOOM BOOM. And such unrelenting speed, thrills upon thrills. I have severe attention deficit disorder in the last year whenever I start watching anything, fritting and restless within 5 minutes of putting anything on to watch. This is the only bloody thing in recent memory that I watched for 2 non stop hours. Blown away, as I said.

Then there were a couple of Homeland episodes. Building up REAL nicely.

And then, there was Valhalla Rising again, last night. I have a friend who on a drunk and stoned night years back, joined a couple of us in watching Valhalla Rising. He’s not much of a world cinema watcher, or any cinema, for that matter. He started watching though, and the rest, as they say is history. This was about 2-3 years ago. Till date, every-time he meets up the same set of people for an overnight stay and goes through the same set of agents, he wants to watch the movie yet again. I usually get spared the brunt of this fascination as he does it at the house of the common friend. He has seen it on his own as well, subsequently, but he wants to end a day of debaucheries with this film, every-time. To hear him talk about it, the first time he saw it was a life changing experience.

Valhalla Rising, imagine?

One can never know just which movie clicks for whom.

I’m quite pleased, to say the least.

3 thoughts on “Content watching on the laptop

  1. Same feelings on Breaking Bad, not only is it boring, its unoriginal, has bad production values, and mostly relies on Hollywood style shock value, which has been largely overdone by the industry. I stopped after the first 6 episodes.

    • I genuinely want to understand from someone who was apparently “blown away” by The Prestige as to just what about the movie appealed to them. I also want to ask them if they’ve read the book.

Leave a Reply

